​We then welcomed Don Stiles (photo right) from the Temple Literacy Council.  He gave a wonderful presentation about their program.  Afterward there were some great prizes given away followed by socializing and the serving of refreshments.  Thanks to all who made it out.

Our annual member meeting on October 16, 2017 went well this year.  There was good food and good friends.  We opened with our new president Norma Swain (photo right, standing on the left) honoring the former president Carol Hodge (standing on the right).

​Followed by some formal announcements, including this year's Best Friend award, which went to Edwin Adams (photo left, with Norma Swain).

Literacy Council Grant Picture, June 29, 2017

​The Friends of the Temple Public Library took a break from preparing for the Labor Day Book Sale to 
award the Temple Literacy Council a $10,000 grant.  We’re grateful for our continued partnership in promoting literacy in the community.   

Standing: L to R Carol Hodge, Nancy Mills Mackey, Richard Schneider, Leigh Gardner, Sandee Middleton, Martha Sanders, David Thomas, LaVerne Wood, Bonnie Asbury, Alice Leadbeater, Marilyn Tarter, , Petara Monroe-Woodberry, Norma Swaim
Sitting: L to R Edwin Adams, Don Stiles, Jodi Thomas, Mary Scheiker, Jevon Westmoreland.
Diann Anderson was present but not pictured.